Bham XC League Div 2: Top Trumps and Onwards


After storming the Women’s league it was time for the men to drop the hammer and drop it they did, sitting proudly in 1st place after Race One. K&D’s strength in depth was on show as the gents put 6 men in the top-50 and 12 in the top-100.

The Men’s A team scored a superb 126 points to put them 23 clear of Black Pear Joggers in the Division lead. The B team also now sit 2nd in the B League – only 15 points of top spot.

Led by talisman and Men’s Vice Captain Chris Sharp who finished 7th overall the men are putting the call out for the whole men’s squad to turn out and give us the best shot at a title charge in both league races. 19 turned out on Sat to put on a dominant display.  

Every single member of the K&D crew out on Saturday contributed to taking points off the other teams, a perfect example of the importance of numbers in XC! Every K&D runner added at least a point onto our oppositions scores. Top team-work.

There were excellent XC debuts for Nick Woolley, Harry Luckhurst and Phil Wood. Pete Makepeace made the most of his recent superb form. Stalwarts Ian Voaden and Max Gimson helped take points of the other team’s B sides while K&D Classics Swanny, Price, Dixon and Carbutt all picked up valuable points for our B Team. Chris Thorley put in a superb Tim Price-esque display of strength over the mud and Morgan, Wainwright and Yeates all delivered quality to back Chris Sharp up.

The next race, 1st Dec is at Stratford-Upon-Avon – same venue as our women’s race, same day. We’re calling it a K&D outing and encouraging our teams to swamp Stratford with as many runners as possible and take the battle to the opposition in both the Men’s & Women’s division. Strength in Numbers!

Congrats to the gents on delivering a superb 1st race of the year. Lets build on this momentum and turn the K&D express into a runaway train over the next 3 races!

Full Results:
7    Chris Sharp – 35:27
13  Chris Morgan – 35:58
14  Gareth Wainwright – 36:03
16  Rob Yeates – 36:08
28  Nick Woolley – 36:32
48  Chris Thorley – 37:58
54  Torsten Roesler – 38:13
60  Harry Luckhurst – 38:33
61  Tim Price – 38:37
66  Michael Swann – 38:50
70  Richard Dixon – 39:00
91  Greg Turner – 40:10
103 David Carbutt – 40:33
131 Pete Makepeace – 41:35
133 Paul Bentley – 41:41
175 Max Gimson – 45:16
189 Ian Voaden – 47:00
191 Phil Wood – 47:04